Thankful

Detail from Artist and child  Calibration: [noun] the act of checking or adjusting (by comparison with a standard) the accuracy of a measuring instrument; “the thermometer needed calibration.”

When people ask how I am doing in this time of transition I think of it as a new journey of recalibrating my thought processes and daily routines.  I was in full-time ministry at my church for 13 1/2 years and prior to this a couple of years founding a Christian school.  Life has been busy!  There was always much to accomplish, much to attend to, and myriads of thoughts going in all directions!  There are many aspects so many facets for which to be thankful, and the first one is that I had the opportunity to learn a lot!

As my thankful list grows I am so very thankful for many people who have impacted and nurtured our lives.  Learning from my senior pastor was truly like me being an apprentice artist as I sat at the feet of a master artist.  I had a close up view of ministry and church and the intricately woven web of relationships that make up a church family.  I cannot leave this chapter of my life without being thankful for this tremendous life-changing opportunity.

I had the privilege of “doing life” with so many people over the years…what an amazing sweet thing is this fellowship we have as brothers and sisters in Christ – especially during the very heights and depths of life’s dramas.  There is such an ebb and flow.  I could go on for chapters…

I am thankful for the precious relationships of family and friends.  Most notably I am thankful to God for allowing me and directing me through this sizable chapter in my life.

And now on to recalibration.  Yes, I am enjoying the opportunity to “be an artist” again.  Whether it will be a “starving artist” or otherwise, God alone knows.  But I like this time period of trying it on for size and look forward to the community aspects of creating art and talking with people, meeting new faces and I am very jazzed about teaching.

I am particularly happy about spending more time with my family.  The sweetness there is rich and deep. When our four-year-old granddaughter says, “do you have to go to work today?”  And I get to say – “I’m working here from home.”  She always gives a cheer and a little jump – “yea!”  It’s a sweet sound..

Psalm 50:14-15 says, “Make thankfulness your sacrifice to God, and keep the vows you made to the Most High.  Then call on me when you are in trouble, and I will rescue you, and you will give Me glory.”  And Psalm 50:23a, “But giving thanks is a sacrifice that truly honors Me.”

One thought on “Thankful

  1. Thankfulness colors my attitude. When I can be thankful even through situations I may not have expected or particularly welcome, I have the ability to deal with it so much better. Thank you for sharing, Penny.

Leave a Reply

