Neon Signs and Peace

colour my worlddetail2 I painted this painting of roses on a piano and it reminds me of a peaceful, slower-paced time in my life.  “Show me the right path, O LORD, point out the road for me to follow.  Lead my by Your truth and teach me, for You are the God who saves me.  All day long I put my hope in You.”  Psalm 25:4-5

How often do we pray for that ‘neon sign,’ an “open door,” or at least clarity before we make a major decision?  Pretty often, I think.  Those are not bad prayers, for we do not want to make mistakes.  Yet, in my experience God generally doesn’t place those big road signs out there – because in most cases that would not be living by faith.

Yes, the children of Israel had a cloud to lead them by day and a pillar of fire to lead them by night.  That sounds appealing until we realize, because of their stubbornness and unbelief, they wandered the wilderness for forty years, when their intended destination was only an eleven day journey away.

Living by faith changes the fiber in our hearts.  We sometimes have to go out on a limb, to take risks and to trust God in a way we never have before.  We give up the notion of a neon sign and embrace the leading of His peace, when choosing the road ahead may not make sense to our way of thinking.  We read His Word, we pray, (we listen) and we seek out wise counsel from a variety of people whom we respect, but in the end it is stepping out from a position of warmly lit comfort into a place where we can see no light.

It is in the step that faith is strengthened and though our world may feel scary and shaky there is also a sense of being upheld my His mighty hand.  He catches us.  Experiencing the peace of God means we can stand on principle, we can act on what we believe to be right from the depth of our souls, and we can hand over that which troubles us into the care of God.  This peace transcends our circumstances.  We can experience God’s peace in the midst of turmoil, even on the fringe of would-be chaos.

May His peace surround you today.  In the life circumstances that do not make sense, my His hand guide you, comfort you and draw you close into His presence.

Leave a Reply

