Perspective is Everything

It is said that the eye is a window to a person's soul.

It is said that the eye is a window to a person’s soul.

Perspective is everything, really.  When I paint a portrait I can literally spend eight hours working on the likeness of a single human eye.  Up close to the canvas and at times even working with a tiny brush under a magnifying glass, each nuance can be meticulously painted into place.  It can be a convincing interpretation of an individual’s eye.

BUT, if I do not change my perspective and step back from the painting by ten or twenty feet I could be in danger of pouring a lot of time and energy into an eye that is placed on the face that is just a little off from where it should be.  A quarter-of-an-inch on a tree branch makes no difference whatever.  Moving someone’s eye a quarter-of-an-inch, well, people get upset.  The portrait would no longer look like the individual’s likeness I am trying to create.  It could be very uncomplimentary.  Perspective makes all the difference.

If I stay up close to a problem or difficulty in my life and do not take the opportunity to step back and gain God’s perspective, I can be pouring precious time and energy into something that is of little consequence.  God’s perspective on the situation is the one that matters, and the perspective that we can trust!

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord.  “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.  For just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.”  Isaiah 55:8-9

What a relief and comfort to realize anew, that for this day and all that comes with it, God thinks on a whole different plane!  Romans 8:28 reminds us that for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose – all things are working together for our good!

Leave a Reply

