What If?

rollercoaster But, what if?  The mind can go all kinds of crazy places with the words, “what if.”  Our future security, our health, our dreams, the well-being of our loved ones are all issues that can send our heads spinning if we travel down the road of “what if.”

The “what ifs” were not foreign to King David, but this is what he learned when the Philistines seized him in Gath:  “But when I am afraid, I will put my trust in you.  I praise God for what He has promised.  I trust in God, so why should I be afraid?  What can mere mortals do to me?  (Psalm 56:3-4 NLT)

It seems that God allows many opportunities in our lives to encourage us to remember that our trust needs to be in Him alone.  How easy it is to get secure in our circumstances and even other human beings whom we dearly love!  But God alone is the source of our true security, hope and well-being.

It’s very human to fear.  That’s why the Bible repeatedly tells us to “fear not,” because we are prone to that state of mind.  We are all about the “what ifs.”  And even if a “what if” came true, would our foreboding and fretting prepare us for the challenge ahead?  Fear and anxiety do not equip us for life’s battles, but trust and faith in God make the heart secure.  The peace of God is a powerful reality for the child of God who puts their trust in Him.

King David goes on to say,  “This I know: God is on my side!  I praise God for what He has promised.  I trust in God, so why should I be afraid?”

When we picture our next “what if,” try picturing God being on our side in the situation.  What difference does this scenario bring to mind?  The life of faith is never boring – but ever challenging us to trust Him in all our “what ifs.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

